I am Mom

 

fy

 

During my battle and journey with depression, I realized one of my problems: I had completely lost myself. I am no longer the person I was before having kids. I was a very positive person, enjoying life, outgoing, I always wanted to experience new things.

Who am I now? I am Mom. I look, think, talk, and act like a mom. I know having children that pretty much comes with the territory. But does being a mom have to define who you are?

If someone were to come up to me and ask me…

What do you do? I’m a mom, I wipe butts.

What do you enjoy doing? Sleeping.

What are your hopes and dreams for the future? My kids starting school.

I literally researched for hours on how to find yourself while being a mom. I came upon many articles from mom’s in the same situation. I did find a few that listed steps..

  • Don’t feel guilty about taking time for yourself.
  • Discover your passion.
  • Get out and try new things, get scared, get uncomfortable.

 

These are great tips, but honestly they don’t really apply to me. If you’re like me and don’t have the option of having a babysitter and having some alone time, how are you suppose to get out and try new things?

You know that tv show, Take Me To Your Mother? With that Andrea chick? She meets mom’s all around the world getting advice on being a mom. She travels the world,  trying all these new things on finding herself. But most of the time where’s her kid?? I’m not bashing her in any way, I’m mostly just jealous!

So if you’re in my situation, and you have found a way to find yourself please share your story! I would love to read it!

 

 

 

Please follow me on Facebook and Pinterest for more Mommy Inspiration!

fbimagesNUHQ6OHR

4 thoughts on “I am Mom

  1. Okay, I don’t see anyone else responding and I wanted to try and respond. This may not be too helpful but it’s all I got. :-( For me (a mom of six) Writing accomplishes all those steps and here’s how…. (Sorry I don’t know how to do those cool bullets like you did.)

    1. Don’t feel guilty about taking time for yourself. (I write when they nap during day, late at night and when they watch television or play outside. I do NOT feel guilty over a messy house or eggs for dinner)
    2, Discover your passion. (My passion is and has always been Writing so that part was easy.)
    3. Get out and try new things, get scared, get uncomfortable. (I am divorced and that has made me scared and uncomfortable enough! However, my “Once Upon a Time” blog is new and has made me take risks and step outside that proverbial comfort zone even more so. It has also been very cathartic to confess some truths woven into my fiction. A release of sorts. I feel more authentic and less like I am trying to constantly appear to be something I am not. Or at least something I am NOT feeling. The amount of honesty with my anonymity has been freeing.

    That being said, I can totally see if you suspect that discovering your passion will lead you to a roadblock (logistically you cannot pursue it) and thus feel tons of frustration and bitterness. (I actually resent when my kids don’t nap or play outside because it cuts into “my passion.” If you cannot afford a babysitter, can you possibly do the co-op thing?

    That’s all I got. For now. But for what it’s worth, I hate that Andrea bitch too. ;-)

    PS. I think you could write a hilarious blog post making your professional “resume” Skills: Butt wiping. Objective: Sleep. Can hardly wait to see your references and letter of recommendation! Take care.

    • Wow you have 6 kids?! How do you do it? I go crazy with just 2 lol. And thanks again for sharing I always love your kind words! I’m still going to try those steps even if it kills me to do so lol

Leave a Reply

